4992/7992 – Reporting, Editing & Marketing Converged Media

Basic Info | Schedule | Projects/Teams | Objectives | Policies | Grading

Journalism 4992/7992 is the Capstone course for undergraduates in convergence-related interest areas. Graduate students interested in long-form projects are also encouraged to enroll.

Prerequisites

Convergence Reporting (J-4804/7804)  AND Convergence Editing & Producing (J-4806/7806) OR instructor’s consent.

Class Schedule

This course is three credit hours.

The class meets this semester on Mondays from 3:00 to 4:50 p.m. in the RJI Board Room, 310B RJI.  If you haven’t been there before, take the RJI elevator to the third floor, go through the double glass doors and all the way back to the southwest corner.  The conference room has a long glass wall.

Primary Instructor

Mike McKean, Associate Director, Reynolds Journalism Institute, 310F RJI, mckeanml@missouri.edu

Other Mentors

Randy Picht, Executive Director, RJI, 310E RJI, pichtr@rjionline.org
Elizabeth Frogge, RTV Professor, 280B Gannett, froggee@missouri.edu
Ryan Famuliner, News Director, KBIA, 85 McReynolds, famulinerr@missouri.edu
Kris Husted, Reporter/Producer, KBIA, 77 McReynolds, hustedk@missouri.edu
Kathy Kiely, Lee Hills Chair, 214 RJI, kielyk@missouri.edu
Ferris Pfeiffer, Prof. of Bio-engineering, 160 Ag Engineering Bldg, pfeifferf@missouri.edu

A Few Good Sources for News of the Week

Axios Media Trends

Politico Morning Media

re/code

New York Times’ Media & Advertising

Journalism.org Daily Briefing

Digiday Media

WNYC’s On the Media

The Washington Post’s Erik Wemple: A reported opinion blog on news media

Fox News Media Buzz with Howard Kurtz 

CNN’s Reliable Sources with Brian Stelter

Pew Research Center: Media and News

Public Media Innovators (Facebook)

ONA Educators (Facebook)