• 4804/7804 Schedule – FS18

    Basic InfoSchedule | Syllabus | Policies | GradingNewsroom Shifts | ProjectsToolkit

    **MONDAY/WEDNESDAY CLASSES WILL BE IN STRICKLAND 114. FRIDAY CLASSES WILL BE IN TUCKER FORUM (GANNETT 85)**

    Monday, August 20: Lecture 1  Intro

    Lecturers: Judd Slivka/ Mark Hinojosa/Kathy Kiely

    Meet your faculty and find out what you’ll be doing in the Convergence Reporting course.

     

    Wednesday, August 22: Lecture 2– What’s a story?

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    Camp Convergence Assigned. Assignment is here.

    We talk about story a lot. But what is a story? That’s what we’re going to find out.

     

    Friday, August 24: Lecture 3: Writing for the Ear

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    How we hear a story is different from how we read a story. We’ll go through clear, concise writing that works over the air and on the screen.

    4126 project due

    Monday, August 27: Lecture 4: Scripting and Sourcing

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    The script is the backbone of what we do here. We’re going to go over our various scripts, what they do and how they work. Additionally, your story is only as good as your sources. We want you to dive deep to find sources. This lecture will help you find the right ones.

    The Futures Lab Dress Code

    Wednesday, August 29:  Lecture 5– How to find a story

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    Stories are everywhere. You just need to know where to look for them.

    Camp Convergence Deadline Day: Harry

     

    Thursday, August 30

    Camp Convergence Deadline Day: Hermione

     

     

    Friday, August 31: Lecture 6– What’s in a pitch?

    Lecturer: Mark Hinojosa

    Your pitch is where a great story begins. We’ll walk through wha a successful pitch looks like and how to sell editors on your great idea.

    Camp Convergence Deadline Day: Ron

     

    Sunday, September 2: 4126-2 due

    Harry 1 Pitches Due 6 p.m.

     

    Monday, September 3: No Class- Labor Day

     

    Wednesday, September 5: Lecture 7: What does an A story in 4804 look like?

    Lecturer: Mark Hinojosa

    What does an A-worthy story in 4804 look like? We’ll take a look at successful past work.

     

     

    Thursday September 6: Harry Pitch 1

     

    Friday, September 7: Lecture 8: What is a social element?

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    We can use social media to promote our stories, but we can also it to build an entirely different kind of story that engages our audience in a totally different way.

     

    Sunday, September 9: Hermione 1 Pitches due

     

    Monday, September 10: Lecture 9: Storyboxing

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    A story needs to have shape and structure before it be compelling. We’re going to show you how.

     

     

    Wednesday, September 12: Hermione Pitch 1

     

     

    Thursday, September 13: Harry 1 Deadline

     

     

    Friday, September 14: Lecture 10: Making infographics

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    There’s more than one way to tell a story. And a good visual can be worth thousands of words.

     

    Sunday, September 16: Ron 1 Pitches Due

     

    Monday, September 17: Lecture 11:  Sources ?

    Who are your sources?

     

    Wednesday, September 19: Ron pitch day 1

     

     

    Thursday, September 20: Hermione 1 Deadline

     

    Friday, September 21: Lecture 12 Interviewing Institutions

    Lecturer: Kathy Kiely

    Good interviews make your story — and make the job of a building story — much easier. But you’ll be interviewing people who don’t always want to tell you things. Here’s how to make your job easier.

     

    Sunday, September 23: Harry 2 Pitches

     

    Monday, September 24: Lecture 13 Fact Checking

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    Facts are the currency we trade in; our credibility evaporates when we get them wrong. We’re going to teach you some fact-checking techniques to learn by heart.

     

     

    Wednesday, September 26: Harry Pitch 2

     

    Thursday, September 27: Ron 1 Deadline

     

    Friday September 28: What is a nut graf?

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    Stories need frames. If it’s a print story, we do that in a nut graf. In a broadcast piece, we do it as an anchor intro. We’ll learn about both, as well as Judd’s exuberance about nut grafs.

     

    Sunday, September 31: Hermione 2 Pitches

     

    Monday, October 1: Course Correction

    You’re one story in—here’s what you need to change moving forward.

     

    Wednesday, October 3: Hermione pitch 2

     

     

    Thursday, October 4: Harry deadline 2

     

    Friday, October 5: Data story

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    A breakdown of what a data story entails, and how to work within databases successfully.

     

    Sunday, October 7: Ron 2 Pitches

     

    Monday, October 8: Excel

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    We shall find stories in data, using Microsoft Excel.

     

     

    Wednesday, October 10: Ron Pitch 2

     

    Thursday October 11: Hermione Deadline 2

     

    Friday, October 12:  Interviewing data

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    You have your data. Now what? We’ll talk about how to work with data to find the information for your stories.

     

    Sunday, October 14: Harry 2 Pitches

     

     

    Monday, October 15: Lecture 19: Using documents to tell stories

    Lecturer: Kathy Kiely

    Documents are sources, too. Memos, emails, reports — they can all be mined for information to build out a story.

    Wednesday, October 17: Harry Pitch 2

     

    Thursday, October 18: Ron deadline day 2

     

    Friday, October 19:  Lecture 20: Interviewing 2

    Lecturers: Mark Hinojosa/Kathy Kiely/Judd Slivka

    Sunday, October 21: Hermione 3 Pitches

     

    Monday, October 22: Lecture 21: Photo storytelling

    Lecturer: Mark Hinojosa

    A photo may be a snapshot in time, but a series of photos tells a story. We’ll go into detail onto how to illustrate a story with compelling photography.

     

    Wednesday, October 24: Hermione Pitch 3

     

     

    Thursday, October 25: Harry Deadline day 3

     

    Friday, October 26: Lecture 22-Color correction

    Lecturer: Mark Hinojosa

    Shoot it balanced the first time and you won’t have to correct it in post. But if you don’t, here’s how you do….

     

    Sunday, October 28: Ron 3 Pitches

     

    Monday, October 29: View from the other side

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    Sometimes it helps to know what the person on the other end of the phone is thinking…

     

    Wednesday, October 31: Ron pitch 3

     

     

    Thursday, November 1: Hermione deadline 3

     

    Friday, November 2: Where’s the line?

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

    Ethics and crossed boundaries

     

    Sunday, November 4: Harry 4 Pitches

     

    Monday, November 5: Diversity

    Lecturer: Mark Hinojosa

    Diversity in newsrooms

     

    Wednesday, November 7: Harry pitch day 4

     

    Thursday November 8: Ron deadline 3

     

    Friday, November 9: Open

    Sunday, November 11: Hermione 4 Pitches

     

    Monday, November 12: Planet Money

    Lecturer: TBD

     

     

    Wednesday, November 14: Hermione Pitch 4

     

    Thursday, November 15: Harry deadline 4

     

    Friday, November 16: OJ, media circuses, and how we all get played

    Lecturer: Judd Slivka

     

     

    Saturday, November 17- Saturday, November 24: Thanksgiving break

     

    Sunday, November 25: Ron 4 Pitches

     

    Monday, November 26: Resumes

    Lecturer: Mark Hinojosa/Kathy Kiely/Judd Slivka

     

    Wednesday, November 28: Ron pitch 4

     

    Thursday, November 29: Hermione deadline 4

     

    Friday, November 30: Portfolio beginnings

    Lecturer: Mark Hinojosa

     

    Monday, December 3: Evaluations

     

    Wednesday, December 5: Wildcard

     

    Thursday, December 6: Ron deadline 4

     

     

     

     

     

     

    ----------Posted on June 12, 2018 by in 4804

Comments are closed.