4806/7806 Basic Info

Basic InfoSchedule | Syllabus | Policies | GradingNewsroom Shifts | Blogs | Toolkit

This course will give you experience in producing and editing, as a member of an editorial staff. As a project manager, you will practice editorial management, planning and producing, and teamwork skills as you oversee content for the Columbia Missourian, KBIA and KOMU.  You will do additional work in one of our three traditional newsrooms or during the Fall and Spring terms, you may choose to work for an alternative newsroom partner (Global Journalist, Missouri Business Alert, Newsy or Vox).

You will exercise, develop and improve on all the journalism skills practiced in previous classes: researching, reporting, editing, producing, proofreading, photo editing and design.

Prerequisites

Convergence Reporting (J-4804/7804)
or Broadcast News II (J-4306/7306)
or News Reporting (J-4450/J-7450)

 

Class Schedule

This course is three credit hours.

During the Fall and Spring terms, the course meets on Mondays and Wednesdays from 9-9:50am. In the Fall we meet in 2-10 Agriculture.  Only students assigned to project management rotations attend Monday meetings and Wednesday 8 a.m. pitch meetings once team stories begin.  On Fridays, only students assigned to project management rotations will attend story story grading in 35 Walter Williams from 9-9:50.

 

Course Faculty

Judd Slivka, 001D RJI, slivkaj@missouri.edu
Mark Hinojosa, 001C, RJI, hinojosam@missouri.edu

Editors who can assist you with ideas\writing\video\audio\graphics in the Futures Lab:
Rachel Wise – Rm. 001A RJI, video editor, wiser@missouri.edu

Newsroom Faculty

Amy Simons, Convergence faculty, simonsa@missouri.edu
Tom Warhover, Exec. Editor, Missourian, 882-5734, WarhoverT@missouri.edu
Jeanne Abbott, Managing Editor, Missourian, 882-5741, abbottjm@missouri.edu
Ryan Famuliner, News Director, KBIA-FM, 882-3431, FamulinerR@missouri.edu
Randy Reeves, Managing Editor, KOMU-TV, 884-NEWS, ReevesR@missouri.edu
Jeimmie Nevalga, Supervising Producer, KOMU-TV, 884-NEWS, NevalgaJ@missouri.edu
Annie Hammock, New Media Direcor, KOMU-TV, 884-News, HammockL@missouri.edu
Nathan Byrne, Newsy.com, 442-4557, Byrne@Newsy.com

Required Texts

APStylebook: http://bit.ly/moapstylebook
The Elements of Journalism by Bill Kovach and Tom Rosensteil

Recommended Texts

Any of the following textbooks are helpful if you want more in-depth background on editing and producing across media platforms:

Journalism Next – Mark Briggs
The Art of Editing, 7th edition – Brian Brooks and Jack Sissors, Allyn and Bacon
Contemporary Editing – Cecilia Friend, NTC Contemporary Publishing Group
Power Producer: A Practical Guide to TV Producing, 3rd edition – Dow Smith, RTNDA
Radio: An Illustrated Guide – Jessica Abel and Ira Glass, WBEZ Alliance, Inc

The first three books are often used in our newspaper, magazine and broadcast courses. Copies may be available at the MU Bookstore. The Abel and Glass book is available from Amazon.com.

Check the course schedule often. Links to occasional online readings will appear there.

You are expected to keep up with news from the print, online and on-air services of the Missourian, KOMU, KBIA and their local competitors. Class discussions will sometimes focus on that coverage.