4992/7992 – Reporting, Editing & Marketing Converged Media

Basic Info | Schedule | Projects/Teams | Objectives | Policies | Grading

Journalism 4992/7992 is the Capstone course for undergraduates in convergence-related interest areas. Graduate students interested in long-form projects are also encouraged to enroll.


Convergence Reporting (J-4804/7804)  AND Convergence Editing & Producing (J-4806/7806) OR instructor’s consent.

Class Schedule

This course is three credit hours.
The class meets this semester on Mondays from 3:00 to 4:50 p.m. in the Lambert Seminar Room, 200A RJI.  Because of the number of students enrolled, we are dividing the Monday meeting into two, 50-minute sessions.  Watch Slack for information on which session you and your teammates will be assigned to.

Primary Instructor

Mike McKean, Associate Director, Reynolds Journalism Institute, 310F RJI, mckeanml@missouri.edu

Other Mentors

Randy Picht, Executive Director, RJI, 310E RJI, pichtr@rjionline.org
Mark Hinojosa, Convergence Professor, 001C RJI, hinojosam@missouri.edu
Amy Simons, Convergence Professor, 001E RJI, simonsa@missouri.edu
Ebony Reed, Futures Lab Director, RJI, 001A RJI, reedes@rjionline.org
Heather Lamb, Magazine Professor, 321A LHH, lambh@missouri.edu
Jim Flink, Strategic Communication Professor, 140 WW, flinkj@missouri.edu
Scott Fuenfhausen, Strategic Communication Instructor, fuenfhausenj@missouri.edu
Jamie Grey, Managing Editor, KOMU-TV, jamiegrey@komu.com
Elizabeth Frogge, RTV Professor, 280B Gannett, froggee@missouri.edu
Ryan Famuliner, News Director, KBIA, 85 McReynolds, famulinerr@missouri.edu
Rebecca Smith, Health reporter, KBIA, 72 McReynolds, smithbecky@missouri.edu
Shawn Moore, Lead Developer, Futures Lab, 001H RJI, moorest@missouri.edu
Janet Saidi, Journalism Instructor, saidij@missouri.edu
Claire Syler, Theatre Professor, sylerc@missouri.edu
Stan Silvey, Broadcast Operations Manager, Mizzou Network, silveys@missouri.edu

A Few Good Sources for News of the Week


New York Times’ Media & Advertising

Journalism.org Daily Briefing

WNYC’s On the Media

The Washington Post’s Erik Wemple: A reported opinion blog on news media

Fox News Media Buzz with Howard Kurtz 

CNN’s Reliable Sources with Brian Stelter

Pew Research Center: Media and News

Public Media Innovators (Facebook)

ONA Educators (Facebook)

Street Fight Magazine